Opening Night Composer Roots: Beethoven's Ninth: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Research output: Performances, compositions and other non-textual formsPerformance


  • Thomas Dausgaard (Conductor)
  • Louise Alder (Performer)
  • Jennifer Johnston (Performer)
  • Stuart Jackson (Performer)
  • Neal Davis (Performer)


BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Louise Alder, Soprano
Jennifer Johnston, Mezzo-Soprano
Stuart Jackson, Tenor
Neal Davis, Bass
RCS Voices (Timothy Dean, Chorus Master)
Thomas Dausgaard, Conductor.

Palestrina: Sicut Cervus (four-part motet)
Bach: Fugue in B flat minor, BWV 867 (arr. for string quintet by Beethoven) (Hess 38)
Handel: Coronation Anthem 'Zadok the Priest'
Gluck: Dance of the Scythians (Iphigénie en Tauride)
Mozart: Misericordias Domini, K222
Haydn: Symphony No. 70 in D major


Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D minor, 'Choral'.

Every performance of the Ninth is a major occasion, and with four exceptional soloists and the fresh voices of the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, this will be a magnificent opening to the new season. But no revolution happens in isolation, and in a specially-conceived first half, Thomas Dausgaard introduces a season-long exploration of Composers' Roots with a journey into Beethoven's musical ancestry: from Haydn and Mozart back to Handel, Bach and the music of the Renaissance.
Thomas Dausgaard conducts the BBC SSO in Beethoven's Ninth.

Bibliographic note

This performance was broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on Monday 25th September.


Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationCity Halls, Glasgow
Publication statusPublished or Performed - 21 Sept 2017